Notification rules

E-mail Notifications & SMTP

 

Each project you create in EP has an Email notification mechanism whereby a group of users selected by you would receive a notification by Email should a notification event (you choose what kind of event the notification system should take into account) occur, such as a new task, issue or request added, edited or completed, a file attached etc.

 

Notifications are not sent for events occurring with completed projects, i.e. with a status marked 'Treat as completed'. See project statuses to learn more.

 

The Email notification mechanism operates by rules set by you. You can change these at will and use as many of them as you wish.

 

Notification rules

 

There are two types of notification rule:

 

Common notification rules, and

Customizable notification rules

 

Creating a common notification rule

 

See Common notification rule.

 

Viewing the common notification rule:

 

1.

While in Project details section, click 'More actions'  | 'Notifications' ().

2.

Click the 'View' link for 'Common notification rule'.

 

Creating a notification rule:

 

1.

While in Project details section, click 'More actions'  | 'Notifications'.

 

Initial Notifications rules screen is displayed.

 

 

 

 

2.

Click 'Add rule'.

3.

In the expanded Notification rules screen, type a name of the new rule.

4.

In the Choose recipients section, select a category of recipients who you wish to receive notifications.

 

Selecting the Also include checkbox makes available additional recipients. Choose as appropriate.

 

 

There are two groups of potential recipients of email notifications:

 

1) Primary: All members of the project; Assignees only and None of the above (selected by radio button), and

 

2) Secondary: one who made the change, one who created task, issue, etc., and any one selected from an additional list (accessed through the Also include checkbox control).

 

5.

In the Choose events section, select/unselect events you wish to be included in/excluded from the notification rule. Use one of the presets (Key events, Assignee, Manager, Customer, Nothing, All), if required.

6.

Click the Disable link, if you want the rule to be disabled. (The link Enable will appear instead which you can use to re-enable the rule).

7.

Click 'X' to exit the screen.

 

 

 

 

Editing/disabling an existing notification rule

 

1.

While in Project details section, click 'More actions'  | 'Notifications'.

2.

Click the Customize link for the rule you want to edit.

3.

Change the rule’s name to one you prefer.

4.

In the Choose recipients section, select a category of recipients who you wish to receive notifications.

 

Selecting the Also include checkbox makes available additional recipients. Choose as appropriate.

5.

In the Choose events section, select events you wish to be included the notification rule. Use preset selections of events: Key events, Assignee, Manager, Customer, etc.

6.

Click the Disable link, if you want the rule to be disabled. (The link Enable will appear instead which you can use to re-enable the rule).

7.

Click 'X' to exit the screen.

 

 

 

Deleting a rule

 

To delete a rule:

 

1.

While in Project details section, click 'More actions'  | 'Notifications'

2.

Mouse over the row with the rule you wish to disable/delete and, as it changes color, click anywhere but the rule name (hyperlink).

3.

Click Delete rule if you want the rule deleted.

 

 

To disable a rule:

 

4.

Click Disable link, if you want the rule to be disabled. (The link Enable will appear instead which you can use to re-enable the rule).

 

 

Enabling a disabled rule

 

1.

While in the Project details section, click on the "Notifications" button.

2.

Click Enable link to enable a disabled rule.

 

Making an exclusion list

 

1.

While in Project details section, click on the "Notifications" button.

2.

Click 'Never notify persons from list below'.

3.

Select users from the drop-down list and click 'Add use' for each one you select to add it to the list of users excluded from email notification.

4.

If you have added a user by mistake, click 'Exclude' next to the particular user.

4.

When you are done, click 'Apply'.