Moving activity to another project

Activity Center > Activities

You can move an activity to another project provided you have enough permissions in your role.

Check out the table below for permissions you need to have enabled in your role to be able to move an activity from a project to another:

 

 

Permission

Comment

 

 

 

Global permission

1. Access all projects.

You need to have this global role to be able to select a destination project.

 

 

 

Projects

1. Edit

2. View and manage

The permissions should be included in your role for projects you are not a member of, and on the project from where the activity is moved. Refer to Permissions to learn more.

 

 

 

Activities

1. View all

2. Add

3. Edit All

4. Delete all

5. Manage assignees

The permissions should be included in your role for both projects you are not a member of, and on the project from where the activity is moved.

 

 

 

Time entries

1. View all

2. Add for someone else (Add own)

3. Delete all

The permissions should be included in your role for both projects you are not a member of, and on the project from where the activity is moved.

 

 

 

Members and assignees

1. View and manage (View)

The permissions should be included in your role for both projects you are not a member of, and on the project from where the activity is moved

 

 

 

 

If you lack some of the permissions, you will not be able to do the moving.

 

 

To move an activity to a project:

 

1.

Open Activity details section for the activity.

2.

Place the mouse pointer over the project name in the section.

3.

Click the 'Change' link.

4.

Click the leftward arrow next to the current project's name.

5.

Select the destination project from the list of available projects.

6.

Click 'Set as top-level activity' if you want to move the activity to the top level of the destination project.

 

Or, click the activity from the list that you want to be the parent task for the activity being moved in the destination project.

7.

The move will take effect immediately.

 

 

If the activity has dependencies, the following message will be displayed:

'This activity has dependencies that will NOT be moved to a new project and be DELETED from the original project.'

 

 

Actions available in moving an activity:

 

 

Action

Comment

 

 

 

All sub-activities will be transferred to the new project

Unselecting the box will result in the message:

Your choice means that all sub-activities will be DELETED from the original project.

 

 

 

Assignees for this activity and all sub-activities will be added to the new project

Unselecting the box will result in the message:

Your choice means that all assignees will be DELETED from the original project.

 

 

 

Time entries will be transferred to the new project

Unselecting the box will result in the message:

Your choice means that all time entries will be DELETED from the original project.

 

 

 

Messages will be transferred to the new project

Unselecting the box will result in the message:

Your choice means that all messages will be DELETED from the original project.

 

 

Unselecting the checkbox about assignees will also result in unselecting the one about time entries.

 

There may be fewer actions available for choosing, if inapplicable, such as when the activity has no sub-activities there will be no checkbox about sub-activities.

 

 

Points of note in moving activities

 

Unselecting the checkboxes above will result in permanent deletion of respective data from the original project.

 

The following is transferred to the destination project along with the activity being moved:

1. Attached files.

2. Billing settings.

3. Custom fields.

 

All involved dependencies are deleted.