Project details

Activity Center > Projects

 

When you click on the name of a project in Activity Center, the details panel opens on the right side of the screen. It consists of the following sections and fields (Use the illustration below for ease of reference):

 

Field

Description

Comments

Health

Three states are available:

1. Good ()

2. At risk ()

3. Trouble ()

See Project health.

Status ()

Drop-down list with available status values.

See Project statuses.

Project Name

Name of the project.

Editable (in-line editing)

ID number, Date of creation, and Creator

Project ID details< when created, and by whom

Not editable (system information).

Completion status message.

Example 1: "Project was completed 3 days after its planned end date."

Example 2: "due to end in 7 days".

Not editable.

Completion rate slider with the message "XX % done" ()

Allows you to set the desired completion rate of the project manually.

Editable

If the project period includes today's date, it will be shown as a small light-blue circle.

Budget & Costs

The total budget for the project shown as a light-blue bar. Any billable costs, including time logs (actual hours) and expenses, are shown as a darker bar on top of the first, containing a message "XX of YY spent" (e.g. "$5.28K of $9.50K spent").

Not editable

Project Estimated Hours bar showing Actual Hours and Hours left.

Project estimated hours are shown as a light-blue bar, on top of which actual hours (the total of time logs entered for the project's all activities to date) are shown as a darker bar.

Note 1: If Hours left is not equal to the difference between total estimated hours and actual hours, the position of the hours left on the time line is indicated by a thin vertical light-blue line.

Note 2: When actual hours < estimated hours the time usage bar is colored light blue with the actual hours portion darker blue.

Note 3: When actual hours > hours left, the bar is colored red, and the hours left value becomes undefined. "Set hours left" prompt appears next to the bar.

Note 4: When actual hours = estimated hours, the bar is colored yellow.

Hours left: The value given is reciprocal with that in Hours left filed (see below)

Not editable.

Description

Description of the project.

Editable in a rich text editor. To edit, click on the description; or, if there is no description yet, click in the area with the 'Add description' water-mark text.

Custom fields

The section contains any custom fields created for projects.

The fields are editable and the changes are saved on the fly.

See Custom fields.

Messages, Files, Audit trail log

The section is used to post messages, attach files and view audit trail log.

See Project messages, Attaching files to project, Project audit trail.

Priority

Drop-down list with available priorities.

See Priorities.

Time frame

Indicates the project's time frame. Three scenarios are possible:

1. From [Date] - when only start date is specified.

2. XXd YY.ZZh - when only duration* is specified

3. [Start Date] - [End Date] (Xd YY.ZZh)** (when any two of the parameters are given, e.g Start Date + Duration).

4. For completed project:

[Start Date] - [Actual Completion Date] (Xd Y.Zh)*** (the actual completion date is an editable date, which equals by default to the date when the project is given a treated as completed status, e.g. Closed)

Editable.

Click to bring up an editor with three fields to edit:

- Start;

- Duration; and

- End

Estimated hours

Contains an estimate of how many hours the activity will take to complete.

Editable.

 

Portfolio

Portfolio the project belongs to.

Editable.

 

Customer

Project's customer

Editable

Budget

Project budget.

Note: This budget does NOT include the budgets of its activities, if any. For the overall budget of the project, Billing settings below.

Editable.

# MEMBERS

Section is dedicated to the project members.

For editing roles and permissions, see the section beneath the table.

 

Editable.

Click to open the assignments editor.

See Project assignments.

*) - Duration accuracy is 0.25h. Minimum non-zero duration is 0.25 hours (15 minutes).

**) - Duration in decimal format rounded to the closest 0.25 h.

 

Editing roles and permissions of project members

 

For how to assign people to a project, see Project assignments.

 

To edit a project member's role and permissions:

 

1.

Place the mouse pointer over the project member whose role or permissions you wish to edit (see illustration below).

2.

Click .

3.

Select a new role, or edit permissions for the current role as you see fit.

4.

Click 'Save' after you are done.

 

pencil

The new role and permissions will only apply to this project, but neither to subsequent, nor other projects the user is a member of.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Billing settings

 

To access the project billing settings, click the dollar button () in top right corner of the details section (see the illustration below).

The Billing settings editor opens, as shown below.

 

 

 

 

 

It contains of the following fields and options:

 

Field/Option

Description

Comments

Total budget

The overall budget of the project, including that of its activities.

Not editable

Budget for this project

The budget of the project

The amount does not include the budgets of activities.

Type of billing

Six options are available:

- Resource hourly rate,

- Customer hourly rate*),

- Activity rate,

- Project hourly rate,

- Project fixed cost, and

- Not billable.

 

 

Actual expenses

Actual expenses that you have on your project are entered here. See Adding expenses to learn more.

 

 

Planned expenses

Expenses that you plan to have on your project are entered here. See Adding expenses to learn more.

 

Payments

For adding payments, see Adding payments.

 

Project billing metrics

This section contains various billing metrics. To learn more, see Project billing metrics.

 

 

*) The rate as set in the customer's details. See Creating customers for more details.

 

 

Additional Options

 

To access additional options click .

 

Auto assign

 

This feature is used to set which project member is automatically assigned on tasks, requests, or requests as these are added to the project.

To learn more about this option, see Auto-assigning activities to project members.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notifications

 

You can create notification rules for each project you create. This is done through the notification rule editor. To learn more, see Notifications.

 

 

 

Export to MS Project

 

This item is used to export the project to an XML file suitable for re-import to MS Project.

To learn more, see Export to MS Project.

 

 

 

Deleting the project

 

To delete the project:

 

1.

Select Delete the activity.

2.

A dialog box will pop up. An example is shown below.

3.

Choose the appropriate action.

 

Attention: The action is permanent and cannot be undone. All time logs, messages, file attachments, and all activities will be erased.