Permissions to be copied to a project

EP Help General > Settings > Roles > Permissions

 These permissions apply specifically to the project a user is a member of. They are designed to ensure normal workflow on the project with various members playing their own roles.

 

pencil

By default, Project Manager-role user is not able to edit available roles or even add new users, as this lies specifically with Administrator-role user (or, rather, with one with ‘Manage system settings ’ global permission).

 

The permissions vary widely and are summarized as follows:

 

 

 

Permission

Description

 

 

 

 

 

Activities

1. View all

2. Add

3. Edit all

4. Delete all

5. Edit assigned

6. Delete assigned

7. Manage assignees

These permissions allow the user to:

1. View any activity on the project.

2. Add activities of any type to the project.

3. Edit any activity on the project.

4. Delete any activity on the project.

 

 

 

 

 

Time entries

1. View all

2. Add for someone else

3. Edit all

4. Delete all

5. Add own

These permissions allow the user to:

1. View any time entry on a project.

2. Add time entries for activity assignees.

3. Edit time entries.

4. Delete any time entry.

5. Add the user's own time entries.

 

 

 

 

 

Project

1. Edit

2. Delete

3. Manage members

These permissions allow the user to:

1. Edit the project.

2. Delete the project.

3. Manage project members

 

 

 

 

 

 

Members and assignees

1. View

This permission* allows the user to:

1. View project members or activity assignees on the project.

 

 

 

 

 

 

*

When this permission is not granted, the Assignees box on the Activities List page will show "N/A", but he/she will still be able to receive notification acknowledging the assignment, notification settings permitting. For details, refer to Email notifications.

 

Example:

Ms. Keen is a software developer who has been assigned on a task, GUI for ABC Website, on a project named ‘ABC Website’, is expected, as part of her duties, to be able to view all and edit only tasks, issues or requests assigned to her, as well as view all and edit only issues and requests assigned to her. Regarding time entries, she is entitled to add only her own ones. She is not supposed to modify any details pertaining to the project, or its members as well as those of her co-assignees. The permissions of the type in question in Ms Keen’s role as an EP user on this occasion would be as shown:

 

 Illustration: Ms. Keen’s permissions toward the project she is a member of

 

 

 

Related topics: