Roles, overview

EP Help General > Settings > Roles

A role has two sides to it. On one hand, it defines permissions a user of the system enjoys as he or she uses it, and, on the other hand, a role comprises a set of permissions a user has in relation to a project(s) the user is (or is not) part of. Since the system as a whole is always wider than any project created inside it, there may be roles that are global to the system. Also, even when a user is not part of a project, he or she still may have certain permissions in relation to it (like viewing project members or issues submitted). Part of Easy Projects’s great flexibility lies in that roles users have can be changed widely.

 

It is important to distinguish between global and project-related parts of the system. For example, creating customers or generating overall reports clearly pertain to global functions of the system. On the other hand, creating a task within a project is apparently a project-related function.

 

Easy Projects comes with a number of roles, of which some are built-in roles, and some—predefined ones. For details, see Related links below.

 

 

Role Priority

 

Some roles take precedence over other roles. E.g. if you are Project Manager in a project, you will automatically have full set of permissions, even if your global role does not. The following diagram explains the hierarchy of roles in Easy Projects.

 

Illustration: Role priority.

 

On the practical side, the role priority principle translates into the following rules of thumb:

 

 

1.

If a user is NOT a member of either a project, or a portfolio, his permissions are taken from his global role.

2.

If he is a member of a portfolio, his portfolio-related permissions override his global ones.

3.

If he is a member of a project, his project-related permissions override his global ones.

4.

If he is a member of a project and a portfolio, his project-related permissions override his portfolio-related ones.

 

 

To change a project member’s role to another available one

 

pencil

All the actions below are done via Activity Center, and it is assumed that you have permission to edit project members.

 

1.

Locate the project whose member(s) you want to manage.

2.

Click the project's name to access the <a data-cke-saved-href="Project details section.

3.

Locate Project members section on the screen (on the right side, under Project description one).

4.

Mouse over the row with the user whose role or permissions you want to modify, and click as it changes color. A menu will pop up.

5.

In a small editing screen that appears, choose a new role for the member from a drop-down list of available roles. Click on the "Change role" button to apply the role to the member; and

6.

(Optional) change the member’s permissions by checking or unchecking appropriate boxes.

7.

Click "Save and Close" to apply the changes and exit the editor.

8.

Click 'Save' back on the project details screen to save the changes.

 

 

 

To modify project member’s permissions in the current role

 

1.

The same as Step 1 above.

2.

The same as Step 2 above.

3.

In the small editing screen, change the member’s permissions by checking or unchecking appropriate boxes

4.

Click 'Save and Close' to apply the changes and exit the editing screen.

5.

Click 'Save' above to save the changes.

 

pencil

IMPORTANT: Changes to permissions in project members’ roles made while creating or editing projects will OVERRIDE default role permissions.

 

 

 

 

 

Related topics: