Permissions for projects user is not member of

EP Help General > Settings > Roles > Permissions

 As their name suggests, these permissions apply to projects the user in question is NOT a member of. This way people who are not directly involved in project implementation can track project progress first-hand, as far as their permissions allow them to. For example, a Supervisor-role user can see how activities have been distributed among the project team, add some issues or requests, or delete those that he or she sees redundant, etc.

 

As any other permissions in Easy Projects, permissions of this type are accessible through User menu on the header menu.

 

1.

Log in as a user with ‘Manage system settings ’ permission (e.g. Administrator-role one). If you are already logged in, skip this step.

2.

From User menu select Roles from a drop-down menu.

3.

To access permissions of this type, you can either click on the name of one of the existing roles, e.g. Administrator, or click the "Create a new role" button. Both will take you to Role Details screen. The Permissions for projects where user is NOT a member of section is on the right hand side, beneath the Global permissions.

 

pencil

IMPORTANT: Permissions of this type will not take effect unless the ‘Access all projects’ global permission is enabled in the user’s role, too. See Global permissions for more details.

 

pencil

IMPORTANT: Permissions to add, edit or delete items (see the table below) will not take effect unless the permission(s) to view respective items is enabled, too.

 

This type of permissions refers to projects the user is not a member of. These are summarized as follows:

 

 

Permission

Description

 

 

 

Activities

1. View all

2. Add

3. Edit all

4. Delete all

These permissions allow the user to:

1. View any activity on any project.

2. Add activities of any type to projects.

3. Edit any activity.

4. Delete any activity.

 

 

 

Time entries

1. View all

2. Add for someone else

3. Edit all

4. Delete all

These permissions allow the user to:

1. View any time entry on a project.

2. Add time entries for activity assignees.

3. Edit time entries.

4. Delete any time entry.

 

 

 

Project

1. Edit

2. Delete

These permissions allow the user to:

1. Edit any project. (See note above)

2. Delete any project. (See note above)

 

 

 

 

Members and assignees

1. View and manage

This permission allows the user to:

1. View and manage project members or activity assignees of any project. (See note above)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Example:

Head of department, with dozens of projects carried out a year, has not to be a member of any of those. However, to be able to supervise all or some of the projects he or she may have some ‘extra’-project permissions, e.g. viewing all activities (tasks, issues, and requests), project members and activity assignees, etc., in addition to some global permissions, such as ‘Access all projects’ or ‘Access common reports’. In this case the user’s role might have permissions as follows:

 

 

 Illustration: Head of department with the Supervisor role has this set of permissions by default

 

 

 

 

Related topics: