Time Log Use Requirements

EP Help General > Time Logs

There are a number of requirements/access rights that a user must meet/have to be able to add (their own or someone else’s), view, edit or delete time entries. These are discussed below, under respective headings.

 

Overall requirements:

 

1.

A time entry can be added for a user (by him/herself or by someone else) ONLY if the user is an assignee of the activity for which the entry is being added;

2.

The task must NOT be in a status equal to completed (this includes a task where a user has clicked the 'I'm Done' button because then, for that user, the task is effectively closed).

 

pencil

One cannot add time entries for draft or template projects.

 

Other requirements/access rights:

 

Adding user’s own time entries

 

To be able to add a time entry, a user must be a member of the project for which the entry is being added, AND have the ‘Add own time entries’ or ‘Add time entries for someone else’ permission enabled in the role.

 

Adding time entries for someone else

 

To be able to add a time entry for someone else, a user must meet one of two requirements: to be a member of the project concerned AND have the ‘Add time entries for someone else’ permission enabled in the role; OR

not to be a member of the project concerned but have ‘Add Time Entries for Someone Else’ permission enabled in the role AND have access to the project in question.

 

pencil

One cannot add time entries for disabled, cannot login or guest users.

 

 

Viewing time entries

 

A user can view a time entry if:

 

it was he/she who has added the entry (or someone else has for him/her); OR

he or she is a member of the project for an activity of which the entry has been added AND has the ‘View All Time Entries’ permission enabled in the role; OR

he or she is NOT a member of the project AND has the ‘View All Time Entries’ permission enabled in the role.

 

Editing time entries

 

User can edit a time entry if:

 

it was he/she who has added the entry (or someone else has for him/her); OR

he or she is a member of the project for an activity of which the entry has been added AND has ‘Edit All Time Entries’ permission enabled in the role; OR

he or she is NOT a member of the project AND has the ‘Edit All Time Entries’ permission enabled in the role.

 

Deleting time entries

 

User can delete a time entry if

 

it was he/she who has added the entry (or someone else has for him/her); OR

he or she is a member of the project for an activity of which the entry has been added AND has the ‘Delete All Time Entries’ permission enabled in the role; OR

he or she is NOT a member of the project AND has the ‘Delete All Time Entries’ permission enabled in the role.

 

 

 

Related topics: